Make Poverty History Manitoba has been calling on the provincial government to provide EIA recipients with an additional $300 per month during the pandemic.In the absence of a provincial response, many people on EIA have instead been applying for the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) out of desperation for additional financial support - whether they qualify or not.

When people on EIA access other sources of income their benefits get reduced. Since the Pallister government has decided to treat the $2,000 per month CERB as income, it raises EIA recipients’ income to a level that makes them ineligible for future benefits. The provincial government is closing their files with EIA to save money rather than allowing some of the most vulnerable in our Province to receive much needed financial support.

More information here.

Make Poverty History Manitoba is calling on:

  1. The Province to increase the EIA budget by $300 per person, per month for the duration of the COVID-19 pandemic. 
  2. The Province of Manitoba to keep EIA files open for those who receive CERB during the COVID-19 pandemic. 
  3. The Government of Canada to forgive provincial EIA recipients from the requirement to pay back the CERB if they do not qualify.

We need your help!

Contact your MLA (email or phone!)

Don't know them? Find your MLA using this resource here.

Click on this link to send an email to the Premier (or use:, Families Minister Heather Stefanson (or use and your MLA (see the list below to find their contact information) and tell them you expect your provincial government to:

"Provide immediate emergency support of $300 a month to all EIA recipients per month until the pandemic is over. As a result of our income support systems not working well to assist people living in poverty, many of them are at risk of being worse off than they are currently."

Alphabetical List by Members’ Name:

Member Constituency Party
ADAMS, Danielle Thompson NDP
ALTOMARE, Nello Transcona NDP
ASAGWARA, Uzoma Union Station NDP
BRAR, Diljeet Burrows NDP
BUSHIE, Ian Keewatinook NDP
CLARKE, Hon. Eileen Agassiz PC
COX, Hon. Cathy Kildonan-River East PC
CULLEN, Hon. Cliff Spruce Woods PC
DRIEDGER, Hon. Myrna Roblin PC
EICHLER, Hon. Ralph Lakeside PC
EWASKO, Wayne Lac du Bonnet PC
FIELDING, Hon. Scott Kirkfield Park PC
FONTAINE, Nahanni St. Johns NDP
FRIESEN, Hon. Cameron Morden-Winkler PC
GERRARD, Hon. Jon River Heights IND LIB
GOERTZEN, Hon. Kelvin Steinbach PC
GORDON, Audrey Southdale PC
GUENTER, Josh Borderland PC
GUILLEMARD, Hon. Sarah Fort Richmond PC
HELWER, Hon. Reg Brandon West PC
ISLEIFSON, Len Brandon East PC
JOHNSON, Derek Interlake-Gimli PC
JOHNSTON, Scott Assiniboia PC
KINEW, Wab Fort Rouge NDP
LAGASSÉ, Bob Dawson Trail PC
LAMONT, Dougald St. Boniface IND LIB
LAMOUREUX, Cindy Tyndall Park IND LIB
LATHLIN, Amanda The Pas-Kameesak NDP
LINDSEY, Tom Flin Flon NDP
MALOWAY, Jim Elmwood NDP
MARCELINO, Malaya Notre Dame NDP
MARTIN, Shannon McPhillips PC
MICKLEFIELD, Andrew Rossmere PC
MORLEY-LECOMTE, Janice Seine River PC
MOSES, Jamie St. Vital NDP
NAYLOR, Lisa Wolseley NDP
NESBITT, Greg Riding Mountain PC
PALLISTER, Hon. Brian Fort Whyte PC
PEDERSEN, Hon. Blaine Midland PC
PIWNIUK, Doyle Turtle Mountain PC
REYES, Jon Waverley PC
SALA, Adrien St. James NDP
SANDHU, Mintu The Maples NDP
SCHULER, Hon. Ron Springfield-Ritchot PC
SMITH, Andrew Lagimodière PC
SMITH, Bernadette Point Douglas NDP
SMOOK, Dennis La Vérendrye PC
SQUIRES, Hon. Rochelle Riel PC
STEFANSON, Hon. Heather Tuxedo PC
TEITSMA, James Radisson PC
WASYLIW, Mark Fort Garry NDP
WHARTON, Hon. Jeff Red River North PC
WIEBE, Matt Concordia NDP
WISHART, Ian Portage la Prairie PC
WOWCHUK, Rick Swan River PC